Treatise Of Human Nature Study Guides

  • A Treatise of Human Nature


    A Treatise on Human Nature is a philosophical treatise by David Hume published in 1739-1740. Hume takes a skeptical approach to the question of human nature, opting to examine the question through empirical observations of human psychology. The work is divided into three books: "Of Understanding," a study of cognition, "Of the Passions," an examination of free will and emotions, and "Of Morals," about justice and morality. Each of the books further taxonomizes and expounds upon different types of perception, emotion and reasoning.