Shakespeare's Sonnets Study Guides

  • Shakespeare's Sonnets


    Shakespeare's Sonnets is a collection of 154 sonnets about love, beauty, death and the passage of time, published in 1609. Most of the poems follow the form of the "Shakespearian sonnet": four quatrains (4-line stanzas) followed by a couplet, written in iambic pentameter with the rhyming scheme: abab cdcd efef gg. Many of the poems break from the tradition of sonnets, introducing new themes and parodying other poets and love.